Меняйло в суде.jpg

Politzek Is the New Black 

Screening and discussion

Live stream link in Zoom https://zoom.us/j/94564524876

The Moscow protests in the summer of 2019, caused by the non-admission of barring candidates from the elections for the Moscow City Duma, were violently dispersed by the anti-riot squad (OMON) and Rosgvardiya. The peaceful protests on July 27 and August 3, which brought thousands of people outraged by injustice to the central streets of Moscow, inspired many to take a brave stance, despite the detentions and the massive criminal case known as the "Moscow case". The detentions themselves and this criminal case have mobilized new solidarity forces - formed by professional human rights defenders and ordinary activists, the majority of whom are part of a younger generation. It has become trendy to support political prisoners. Will it last, though?

Director: Konstantin Davydkin

Producer and screenwriter: Maria Muskevich

Duration: 60 min

Curated by Selena Valyavkina 


Selena Valyavkina is a film curator and a psychologist from St Petersburg, Russia. She has been programming, lecturing, and interpreting for international film festivals for nearly two decades. She is particularly interested in mixed genre where the author's vision is shown in an offbeat way. Currently, she combines her experience in the film industry with a career in psychology. She uses film as a projective tool in personal and group therapy to help clients reflect on their life.

February 28th, 2021 2pm EST

@ 11am San-Francisco @ 7pm London @ 9pm Kyiv @ 10pm Moscow

Fridman Gallery

169 Bowery, New York

NY 10002

RSVP via info@locus29.com

The original film screening w/ English subtitles and Q&A in Russian with

539eecbb-f346-48d9-95cf-cbf207800b35.jpe

Maria Muskevich,

producer and screenwriter

74a7e20f-9115-4783-900b-6d5e0a9afb97.JPG

Alexey Minyaylo,

candidate to State Duma, 

ex defendant of Moscow protest 2019

14b45979-329e-4a75-84f8-01298487861a.jpe

Selena Valyavkina,

curator and psychologist

IMG_2893.jpeg

Anna Zinenko,

founder of Locus29